Surf Bash 2016 – Vissla AU
Your cart is currently empty.

Surf Bash 2016

Summer Macedo and Kala Willard won the open divisions at the 27th annual Lopez / Hi-Tech / Vissla Surfbash, Saturday at Hookipa Beach Park.

The Hawaii Surfing Association-sanctioned event had challenging conditions most of the day.

The open women heats were in the morning when the wave faces reached 12-feet with occasional close-outs, a fast-moving current, strong tradewinds, and rain squalls.

“It was messy, but fun,” Macedo said. “I feel like on the big swells, it comes inside and gets a little smaller. I just wanted to get two solid waves and not get too picky.”

Macedo returned from a two-week surf trip to Fiji on Friday. “I was pretty jet lagged. I went for fun and to get comfortable with heavier reef breaks.”

Macedo was a unanimous pick by the judges as she was able to make turns in the critical portion of the waves and still complete her rides in the changing conditions.

The 16-year-old from Lahaina won the 2015 International Surfing Association under 16 world championship last year in Oceanside, California.

She recently was selected to compete in the trials heat in the Maui Women’s Pro, the season-ending World Surf League event scheduled to start Wednesday at Honolua Bay.

She will compete against Oahu’s Brisa Hennessey and Mahina Maeda, and Kauai’s Bethany Hamilton for a spot in the main draw. She said the Saturday was good practice for Honolua.

“It felt good to get back in the jersey and get everything dialed.”

Willard won a split decision over Logan Bediamol while surfing his heats later in the day when the swell started to drop. “It was pretty fun, great conditions,” Willard said.

“It was a lot smaller for our finals heat, it got more clean, a lot less current.”

Willard, a 2016 Lahainaluna graduate, would like to surf professionally. “I’m trying to make it as a surfer, surfing the QS (qualifying series) and hopefully get a higher rank.”

Cody Young, a King Kekaulike senior, also won a split decision in winning the boys 16-17 division. He defeated Bediamol, a teammate who competed with him on Team Hawaii at the 2016 ISA Worlds in Costa Rica last August.

Like Macedo, Young surfed his heats in the morning. “It was super tricky,” Young said. “It seemed like a combo swell, an east / northeast wind swell with west swell remanent, all jumbled.”

Young will surf in the Vans World Cup at Sunset Beach which is scheduled to start on Friday. Two weeks ago, he made round four at the HIC Pro at Sunset.

“I’ve been getting a lot of time at Sunset this year,” Young said. “My team manager, Fred Pattachia, has helped me out, he lives right there. He gives me insight.”

Because of his surf competitions, the straight A student has missed a lot of school. “My teachers have been super lenient,” Young said. “I’m making good grades, that’s why I guess they allow me to do these things. I crank out my homework when I get home.”

Macedo’s brother, Ocean, won the boys 14-15. The Roberson brothers each claimed their divisions; Steve (U10) and Justin (U12). Other winners included Jackson Bunch (boys 12-13), Savanna Stone (girls U14), and Ty Simpson-Kane (longboard).


Open Men
1. Kala Willard
2. Logan Bediamol
3. Eli Hanneman
4. Chaz Kinoshita
5. Spike Shannon
6. Levi Young

Boys U10
1. Steve Roberson
2. Dylan Sloan
3. Roran Mullen
4. Chase Burns
5. Chrislyn Simpson
6. Marley Franco

Boys U12
1. Justin Roberson
2. Rafi Neri
3. Dylan Sloan
4. Roran Mullen
5. Kyle Kelmenson
6. Eric Roberson

Boys 12-13
1. Jackson Bunch
2. Kai Paula
3. Ty Simpson-Kane
4. Kainoa Kaiwi

Boys 14-15
1. Ocean Macedo
2. TyTy Kirby
3. Tony Nunez
4. Eli Hanneman

Boys 16-17
1. Cody Young
2. Logan Bediamol
3. Conan Gentil
4. Spike Shannon

Open Women
1. Summer Macedo
2. Savanna Stone
3. Aloha Lopez
4. Sophia Johnston

Girls U14
1. Savanna Stone
2. Nora Liotta
3. Ellie May Brown
4. Lucia Valdez
5. Abigail Balmus
6. Stella Valdez

1. Ty Simpson-Kane
2. Zack Newton

Words by Kim Ball, Owner of Hi-tech Surf Shop